Our website uses cookies. See our cookies page for information about them and how you can remove or block them. Click here to opt in to our cookies

Creative Place Awards 2015

Lewis Lighthouse, copyright Colin Cameron Photography

Launched in 2012, the Creative Place Awards recognise communities where people work together to celebrate and promote their town, village or area through the arts and culture - enabling them to build on their strengths and to try new things.

Key Facts about the Creative Place Awards

Who can apply?

We encourage applications from cultural organisations, community groups and local authorities to represent their village, town or community and to bid for an award. For more details on the types of groups who have previously applied, look at the ‘Who Can Apply’ section of the Information Guide.

What are the levels of award we can apply for?

You can apply for an award of either: £50k, £100k, or £125k. The level you apply for will depend on which category most suits your size of population, current levels of activity, the scale of your planned activities and your capacity to deliver. We’re aiming to shortlist up to nine places in total – three places for each of the three award categories – and depending on the number and quality of applications, we aim to offer one award in each category. There is also scope for the judges to make an additional discretionary award. For more information on what we’re looking for, and how to work out which level is right for your application, look at the ‘How will we judge an application section’ section of the Information Guide

When can I apply?

The Creative Place Awards are an annual programme and this year, there is a two stage application process. Stage 1 is open to any eligible group or community to apply. We’ll then shortlist applicants from Stage 1, and invite them to submit a fuller Stage 2 proposal. The deadlines are:

Stage 1 deadline:

5pm on Monday 2 February 2015.
All applicants will be notified if they’ve been shortlisted by 13 March 2015.

Stage 2 deadline (for shortlisted applicants only):  

5pm on Friday 1 May 2015.

Who will decide who the winners are?

All eligible applications will be assessed and shortlisted by Creative Scotland staff, supported by representatives from other relevant partner organisations. We’ll then present these to a judging panel of national cultural figures to make the final decisions. For more information look at the ‘Deadline and the decision making process’ section of the Information Guide.

When will the winning Creative Place Awards 2015 be announced?

All shortlisted applicants will be invited to the Creative Place Awards 2015 Awards Ceremony, where the winners will be announced. This year’s ceremony will take place on in June 2015.

Key Dates:

19th November 2014:
Launch of Creative Place Awards 2015.

2nd February 2015:
Deadline for Stage 1 applications.

13th March 2015:
All shortlisted Stage 1 applications will be notified and invited to submit a fuller proposal for Stage 2.

1st May 2015:
Deadline for Stage 2 applications.

25th May 2015:
Deadline for supply of short film for all Stage 2 applications.

June 2015:
Judging panel meets to decide on the winners

June 2015:
Creative Place Awards Ceremony 2015 takes place, and winners are announced.

Further Information and Resources

To help you in pulling your Creative Place Awards application together, we thought it would be useful to signpost you to some relevant information and online resources.

Winners of Creative Place 2014

Find out more about previous winners of Creative Place Awards in 2014.

Winners of Creative Place 2013

Find out more about previous winners of Creative Place Awards in 2013.

Winners of Creative Place 2012

Find out more about previous winners of Creative Place Awards in 2012.

Creative Place Presentations on Vimeo

See previous winners on Vimeo.