Scottish Awards for New Music 2021 - Nominations Now Open

Published: 14 Apr 2021

New Music Scotland are pleased to announce that nominations for the fifth annual Scottish Awards for New Music are now open.

The Scottish Awards for New Music celebrate Scotland’s creatively ambitious and vibrant contemporary music scene, showcasing some of the most innovative, experimental, creative, and groundbreaking work taking place in Scotland. The awards highlight the depth and breadth of our country’s composers, musicians, sound artists, programmers, producers and ensembles, which has been particularly impressive and imaginative over the past year.

Nominations can be submitted by anyone from Wednesday 14th April until Wednesday 12th May 2021 on the New Music Scotland website where full guidelines and submission criteria can be found.

Presented by Tom Service, this year’s online Awards event takes place live from the RSNO Centre, Glasgow at 8 pm on Wednesday 7th July 2021. The event features musicians of the RSNO performing works by composers from the RSNO Composers’ Hub.

Alan Morrison, Head of Music, Creative Scotland, said: "Now, more than ever, is a time to celebrate the brilliance of contemporary music in Scotland. The effects of Covid 19, which are still being felt, have led to unprecedented challenges for the music sector, and the creativity, skill and passion shown by those working in the music sector across the country has been truly inspiring.

"The Scottish Awards for New Music 2021 give us that opportunity to recognise not only the incredible achievements of the people creating new music and the diversity of the work being produced, but also the vital importance of it to Scotland's artistic and creative life. The soundtrack to our lives has felt very different in the last twelve months and has never been more welcome."

As well as the customary categories, New Music Scotland has added two new awards for 2021: New Music for Media, which focuses on music written for film, TV and computer games; and The ISM Award for New Music in Covid Times, in recognition of the role that music and the arts have played in bringing moments of both light relief and reflection during the last year.

The 2021 categories are:

  • Award for Installation / Electroacoustic / Sound Art Work
  • The Dorico Award for Small / Medium Scale (1-10 performers) New Work, sponsored by Steinberg
  • Award for Large Scale (11+ performers) New Work sponsored by PRS for Music
  • Award for Recording of New Music
  • The RCS Award for Community/Education Project
  • The SMIA Award for Creative Programming
  • The RCS Award for Making it Happen
  • Award for New Music in Media
  • Mark McKergow Award for Innovation in Jazz
  • The Good Spirits Co Award for Innovation in New Traditional Music
  • Award for Environmental Sustainability
  • The ISM Award for New Music in Covid Times

The Awards are created by New Music Scotland with support from the National Lottery through Creative Scotland’s Open Project Fund. Award sponsors include Dorico Steinberg, PRS for Music, The Good Spirits Co, Mark McKergow, the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland, the Incorporated Society of Musicians, the Scottish Music Industry Association, and the Musicians’ Union.


8.00 pm, Wednesday 7th July

Streamed online from the RSNO Centre (via the NMS website)

For additional press details, please contact:

Catherine Gillespie 07474 402698

Andy Saunders   07794 159214

Follow us:

Facebook -

Twitter - @scotnewmusic

Instagram - newmusicscotland